Tips To Get A Red Hat Linux Certification

Why Must I Recieve A Linux Certification?

Well, the initial question you may have is why would you obtain a Linux certification? The solution to this is comparable to getting certifications generally. It will help to demonstrate your understanding within the Linux operating-system, by testing and passing the absolute minimum standard of understanding.

It may also help you to get employment in the market. Many jobs require or should you prefer a certification in Linux, for example Linux managers or general server managers. It may also supplment your existing Linux understanding, for you to affect your present job.

Which Linux Certification Must I Get?

This may be a whole publish by itself – but I’ll include all the details within one convenient place.

You will find four primary providers of Linux certifications, plus they all offer a variety of different certifications for various levels.


They provide a variety of certifications, with labels of Engineer, Professional and Desktop Administrator.

Certified Linux Engineer 11 (CLE11) – provides engineer-level skills for managers and designers on large systems according to SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 11. You must have passed the Certified Linux Professional 11 exam to become qualified with this.

Certified Linux Administrator 11 (CLA 11) – a brand new certification, concentrating on daily operation of SUSE Linux Enterprise Server systems.

Certified Linux Desktop Administrator (CLDA) – centered on individuals with Home windows desktop experience and would like to find out about SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop.

Certified Linux Professional 11 (CLP 11) – provides skills essential to administrate SUSE Linux Enterprise Server.


ComptTIA only give a single Linux certification, the Linux .

Linux – an entry-level certification for individuals searching to get involved with the Linux field. Vendor neutral.

Linux Professional Institute

The Linux Professional Institute, also known as LPI, provide a couple of Linux certifications.

Linux Professional Institute Certification Level 1 (LPIC-1) – a junior level Linux certification that tests fundamental skills in main Linux distributions.

Linux Professional Institute Certification Level 2 (LPIC-2) – a sophisticated level Linux certification which includes skills in administration. Passing the LPIC-1 is needed with this.

Linux Professional Institute Certification Level 3 (LPIC-3) – a senior-level Linux certification for major Linux distributions that provides several specialties. Passing the LPIC-2 is needed with this.

Red Hat

Red Hat provide a couple of certifications for his or her distribution of Linux.

Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA) – a lesser-level Linux certification that covers the fundamentals of administration.

Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) – more complex Linux certification, targeted at experienced Linux professionals. Passing the RHCSA is really a requirement of this certification.

Red Hat Certified Virtualization Administrator (RHCVA) – centered on deploying virtual hosts within the Linux atmosphere

Red Hat Certified Security Specialist (RHCSS) – centered on security measures and regions of Linux

Red Hat Certified Datacentre Specialist (RHCDS) – centered on the needs for administrating and supporting datacentre environments

Red Hat Certified Architect (RHCA) – the greatest degree of Red Hat certification, this concentrates on expert topics of Linux administration and usage.

So, the solution to which Linux certification in the event you get?

This will depend in your experience and needs. There are many junior Linux certifications (Linux , RHCSA, LPIC, CLE11) that may be helpful if you are searching to begin.

More complex certifications like the RHCE, LPIC-2, CLA11 and CLP11 could be advantageous for those who have more experience. If you are a senior professional within the Linux area, I’d consider the RHCA or even the LPIC-3.

However, this information is centered on the Red Hat certifications, so we are going to check out tips to get a Red Hat Linux certification in the following paragraphs.

Tips To Get A Red Hat Linux Certification

The steps for you to get a Red Hat Linux certification are fairly easy. I am talking about, the idea is straightforward, but really carrying it out and becoming the certification can be hard, specifically for the greater advanced certifications.

The procedure you are able to follow is one thing such as this:

Pick which certification to obtain. This can come lower to 2 things – which you would like, and which you are qualified for. Take a look at the needs and suggested experience for each one of the certifications, making a decision. Most of them derive from junior/intermediate/expert levels, and also have prerequisite exams, which limits your alternatives. The Red Hat Certified System Administrator is a great starting point, if you are unsure.

Determine the needs. Read the needs around the official website. This might include previous exams, experience, and certain understanding. You ought to be qualified to sit down test before trying to study for this.

Sign up for the program. Make an enrolment in to the course, and hang a test date. Yes, do that even before you start studying. This gives a deadline, and subconsciously keep you motivated to review many take action faster. With no set date, the research might just never happen.

Study. Browse the material, get aquainted using the course work and also the incorporated topics. Take notes, practice, and discover.

Sit test. With respect to the exam, it will likely be whether theory exam according to computers, or perhaps a live exam in which you perform on the Linux machine.

Pass. Knowing your material and becoming the questions right means you pass test.

Celebrate! Congratulations, you’ve passed test and earned an accreditation! All of your effort has compensated off and today you are Red Hat Linux Certified!

There are several Red Hat courses as provided by COMAT. You can take up the course as suitable to you. Various certification and training programs are available with the organization. The courses are designed to provide enhanced learning as required by the industry.

What is your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

You may also like

Comments are closed.

More in:Technology